Pareidolia

zappa© 2014 Michael Fiveson

Frank Zappa? Albert Einstein? Che Guevara?  A face, formed by the elements and found on a wall.  I confess, I see faces everywhere. I see dumb people too, but that’s another story.

Pareidolia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Pareidolia (/pærɨˈdliə/ parr-i-DOH-lee-ə) is a psychological phenomenon involving a vague and random stimulus (often an image or sound) being perceived as significant, a form of apophenia. Common examples include seeing images of animals or faces in clouds, the man in the moon or the Moon rabbit, and hearing hidden messages on records when played in reverse.

The word comes from the Greek words para (παρά, “beside, alongside, instead”) in this context meaning something faulty, wrong, instead of; and the noun eidōlon (εἴδωλον “image, form, shape”) the diminutive of eidos. Pareidolia is a type of apophenia, seeing patterns in random data.

60 thoughts on “Pareidolia

      • not at all……….you look great for your advanced age…just kidding……..and besides…with Einstein on your side…who could be against you…………
        (funny the ‘go figure’)

        Like

      • funny…..Einstein is staring right at me at this very
        moment. I keep his image near by to remember that knowledge is learned from the mind out…what you can image…exists…even if we can not prove it at the moment.

        Now you know something about me…

        and thanks for ‘liking’ my work…I ‘like’ yours too………

        Like

      • really…who is the one that presented a blotch on a rock and called it something else…who was the one that stimulated a discussion about pareidolia…
        I ask you that………………….

        Like

      • Yes, well, OK. If you are suggesting that I too am a wise one, it would serve only to make my point, that you are a wise one, grasshopper.

        Like

  1. I’m so very behind on visiting other’s blogs! So glad I didn’t miss this one! I see Frank Zappa! And this wall art was definitely not an “Over-Nite Sensation”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

