Veterans Day

This is something that I posted some time ago, and while it is written about  WW ll vets, I would like to add that as a veteran myself, I am proud of all those who served, regardless of when and under what circumstance. Thank you vets, and happy Veterans day.

Heroes

called to service

from our great cities

and tiny towns

farmers, carpenters, fathers, and fishermen

at a time, when the risk of dying

held great purpose

and was so clearly defined

off to save the world

and our way of life

these men, boys mostly

walked for months

crawled through unspeakable horror

died in a million awful ways

leaving behind

wives

children

girlfriends

comfort

to march off

and save the world

so few left

they are all very old now

these heroes

they will tell you

they did nothing special

as they saved the world

many returned

limbless

shaken

crippled

yet prideful

respected

and loved

if you meet one

thank him

tell him you know

what he did

and who he is

tell him

he saved the world

© 2013 Michael Fiveson

53 thoughts on “Veterans Day

  1. They went to arms without understanding what really happened with that bankers war…

    Did they ask « hey mister the president, why our bankers are financing this war? Why our bankers are financing the Reich?»

    At the remembrance day, i have special thoughts for all those women that died trying to save their children…

    Like

  2. I do not believe there is a family in America which does not have a story to tell on a war or conflict action. I do not know if there will ever be real peace. Enemies seem to come out everywhere and we must always keep our vigilance up.

    Like

    • You may well be right, on both counts Barry. As simple and silly as this might be, the only way I see all people acting in a common interest would be to have a common enemy. That may well require an attack from outer space, but I think maybe other beings might be too evolved to go into attack mode. There are common enemies here, such as global warming, poverty, disease, but that is lost on humanity. Deep sigh…

      Like

      • Just letting you know I got my book out on create a space. If you are into mysteries, serial killers and redemption and want the information how to get it let me know. Sincerely, Barry

        Like

  3. Thank you so much for this, as well as your military service. My father, who died last year, served in the U.S. Navy in WWII. We are losing too many each day – in remembrance.

    Like

  4. This is so beautiful–and when I do run into a veteran, I tend to gush, embarrassing myself. Thanks Mike, for your service–I appreciate your sacrifices; you are important, you’re a hero–I’m so thankful you’re still with us. God bless you.

    Like

  5. Thanks for this poem. It reminds me that we who have never been to war, can never even touch on the horrors that our brave service men and women go through. We should do more to help them when they return. Cheers Mike

    Like

  6. Thanks for recently visiting my blogsite. It is always good to meet another Coloradoan. 🙂 I like your photos and poem on the veterans. And thank you also for serving our country. Best wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

